Should I Feel Bad For The Old Guy Who Died Trying To Climb Everest?

ESPN – “Family and supporters on Sunday honored the 85-year-old climber who died attempting to regain his title as the oldest person to scale Mount Everest, while Nepali officials stressed the need to limit the age for such a daunting physical challenge.

The death of Min Bahadur Sherchan has revived concerns about allowing elderly people to attempt scaling mountain peaks where the conditions are harsh and the oxygen level is low.

Under Nepali law, people have to be at least 16 years old to climb Everest, but there’s no upper limit.

“It is very necessary to immediately bring that age limit law. If there had been a limit, the loss of life could have been prevented,” said Ang Tshering, head of the Nepal Mountaineering Association.

The association is planning to push the government to limit the age of climbers to at least 76, he said.

Sherchan died Saturday evening at the Everest base camp. Another Nepali man, Shailendra Kumar Upadhyaya, died in 2011 at age 82 while attempting to scale Everest.”

I mean… come on. If you try to climb Mt. Everest at 85, you’re kind of asking for it. Are we really supposed to be shocked that his happened? No. That’s natural selection taking its course. Dude is already  playing with house money on life expectancy, so I say to hell with him for throwing that away.

Personally, I’m not a fan of death. I generally try to avoid it because it’s the worst thing possible. I’m aiming for all the years I can possibly fit in. And I see old guy here wasting his extra years. When (probably if) I’m 85, you can be sure as hell I’m not risking that. Actually, yeah, fuck this guy. Who the hell does he think he is? Imagine how many people would kill to live to 85, and this old bastard is going to go out and treat that gift like it’s nothing. Sorry my friend, sucks for you that you died, but I have better things to feel bad for like Syrian refugees or Myles Garrett having to move to the city of Cleveland.
Also, Nepal, please don’t put an age maximum on people trying to climb Everest. Putting laws on common sense is never a good look. Like, there’s no law stating that I can’t stick my arm in a woodchipper because I’m not stupid enough to do it. Just like old people shouldn’t be stupid enough to try and climb Mt. Everest.

I also don’t know how to feel about the sherpa who agreed to take him. On one hand, kind of a dick for that. You know he knew Old Guy wasn’t gonna make it. But then again, if Old Guy offered me a bunch of money even though he’s probably not living through the trip, who am I to tell somebody not to take the cash.

Leave a Reply

